Segments in this Video

Igor Stravinsky (05:09)


The two world wars changed the course of musical history. In 1913 when the ballet "Rite of Spring" hit Paris, there was a riot. An excerpt from the ballet called the sacrificial dance is included.

Edward Elgar’s "Cello Concerto" (06:13)

After WWI, Europe was devastated. Elgar’s "Cello Concerto" was a kind of requiem for a lost world. An excerpt from this work is included.

Erick Satie (02:17)

After WWI, composers and musicians looked for new ways of writing tonal music. An excerpt from Satie’s "Three Waltzes of the Fastidious Dandy" is included.

Scott Joplin and Igor Stravinsky (03:52)

An excerpt from Joplin’s "Maple Leaf Rag" is included. The phonograph took ragtime and jazz to Europe. An excerpt from Igor Stravinsky's "Ragtime" is included.

Paul Hindemith (02:33)

Paul Hindemith's "1922 Suite for Piano" contains a ragtime movement "with the exuberance of a Joplin rag," but underpinned with a sense of horror over WWIl. An excerpt is included.

Darius Milhaud (01:57)

An excerpt from Milhaud’s "La Création du monde" demonstrates a French take on American jazz music.

Sergei Prokofiev (03:18)

Prokofiev’s "Quintet in G Minor" demonstrates the revolutionary qualities found in his music. An excerpt is included.

George Gershwin (02:50)

When Gershwin went to Paris, he took with him some special talents and wide acceptance for "Rhapsody in Blue," a blend of jazz and classical music. An excerpt from Gershwin’s "An American in Paris" is included. Leonard Bernstein conducts.

Maurice Ravel (05:42)

Ravel’s style is very personal, controlled, and cool. His music seems to suggest a longing for order, calm, and peace. An excerpt from his "Piano Concerto in G" is included.

Kurt Weill (02:53)

“Mack the Knife” from Weill’s "Kleine Dreigroschen Musik" is featured.

Bela Bartók (07:58)

Bartók was intensely interested in ethnic and rural folk music in his own country. It was to be the inspiration behind many of his works. An excerpt from Bartók’s "Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion" is included.

Dmitri Shostakovich (05:10)

Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 7 ("The Leningrad") depicts the onset of the WWII and the horrors that followed. An excerpt is included.

Benjamin Britten (08:54)

This excerpt of Britten’s "War Requiem" features Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Sir Peter Pears, and Galina Vishnevskaya.

Credits: War and Peace (01:15)

Credits: War and Peace

For additional digital leasing and purchase options contact a media consultant at 800-257-5126
(press option 3) or

War and Peace

Part of the Series : Music in Time
DVD Price: $99.95
DVD + 3-Year Streaming Price: $149.93
3-Year Streaming Price: $99.95



In the period between the two World Wars, composers sought to express in music the jarring and discordant sense that civilization was giving way to barbarism. During the same time, jazz burst upon the international musical scene. Performers include the Moscow Classical Ballet Company, Maxim Shostakovich conducting his father’s Symphony No. 7, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Sir Peter Pears and Galina Vishnevskaya in Britten’s War Requiem, and an electric performance of An American in Paris by Bernstein and the New York Philharmonic. Contents include excerpts from: Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring, Ragtime; Elgar’s Cello Concerto; Satie’s Three Waltzes of the Fastidious Dandy; Joplin’s Maple Leaf Rag; Hindemith’s 1922 Suite for Piano; Milhaud’s La Création du monde; Prokofiev’s Quintet in G minor; Gershwin’s An American in Paris; Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G; Weill’s Kleine Dreigroschen Musik; Bartók’s Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion; Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 7 (‘The Leningrad’); Britten’s War Requiem. (61 minutes)

Length: 61 minutes

Item#: BVL729

ISBN: 978-0-7365-6340-6

Copyright date: ©1982

Closed Captioned

Performance Rights

Prices include public performance rights.

Not available to Home Video customers.

Only available in USA, Asia and Canada.