Segments in this Video

Ludwig van Beethoven (02:31)


Beethoven composed the "Fifth Symphony," "Moonlight Sonata," and "Für Elise." Born in 1770, he was the son of a choir master who recognized his talents. Josef Haydn and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart influenced Beethoven.

"The Pastoral Symphony" (02:48)

Beethoven spent the majority of his childhood in Bonn until C.G. Neefe recognized his musical ability. The symphony was a tone poem that celebrated the natural world.

"Piano Concerto No. 5" (02:33)

Beethoven was a great admirer of Napoleon Bonaparte until the general crowned himself emperor. The concerto reflected the French military prowess after bombing Vienna.

"Symphony No.5" 1st Movement (04:06)

Critical reaction to Beethoven's piece was poor until E.T.A. Hoffmann heard the symphony. Beethoven was angry, argumentative, and fickle. He produced "Fidelio" and the "Sixth Symphony" during middle age.

"Piano Sonata No. 3" "Pathetique" (03:49)

Beethoven remained a reluctant bachelor after attempting to woo Therese Brunsvik. The composer dedicated the "Moonlight Sonata" to Countess Giuletta Guicciardi.

"Symphony No. 9" (05:06)

The Industrial Revolution erupted across Europe. Beethoven became increasingly rude and exhibited negative behaviors. The last movement demonstrated mastery over rhythm and contrast.

Credits: Beethoven (00:51)

Credits: Beethoven

For additional digital leasing and purchase options contact a media consultant at 800-257-5126
(press option 3) or


Part of the Series : Great Composers
DVD (Chaptered) Price: $129.95
DVD + 3-Year Streaming Price: $194.93
3-Year Streaming Price: $129.95



For many people, musicians and laymen alike, Beethoven is the most admired composer in the history of Western classical music - not only because of the intellectual rigor of his music, but also its expressive power. Beethoven's struggle to resist being defeated by his deafness has a parallel in his music. This program explores all aspects of Beethoven's life, the music and the man, his views on life, and politics and the French Revolution. Contributors include David Palmer and the Moscow Symphony Orchestra.

Length: 23 minutes

Item#: BVL210784

ISBN: 978-1-64867-961-2

Copyright date: ©1997

Closed Captioned

Performance Rights

Prices include public performance rights.

Not available to Home Video and Publisher customers.

Only available in USA and Canada.