Segments in this Video

Introduction: Cardiff Singer of the World 1999: Episode 3 (01:30)


This week, St. Davids Hall hosts the "Cardiff Singer of the World" contest. David Kempster from Wales will compete against singers from Bulgaria, Australia, Korea and Iceland. Tonight's expert is Philip Langridge. (Credits)

David Kempster (07:39)

The baritone from Wales performs an aria from "Judas Maccabaeus" and "Andre Chenier." Kempster is scheduled to perform in "Carmen" during the competition. Langridge commends the diction but would prefer a more focused voice.

Lisa Russell (06:08)

The soprano performs an aria from "La Boheme" and "Carmen." The opera singer prefers shorter arias of Hugo Wolf. Members of the jury are Carlo Bergonzi, Dame Joan Sutherland, Eva Randhawa, Cheryl Mills, Brian McMaster, and Peter Jonas.

Tomas Tomasson (06:55)

The bass from Iceland performs an aria from "The Barber of Seville." Langridge describes how he appreciated Tomasson's interpretation.

Dae-San No (08:05)

Guang Yang wins the competition in 1997. Dae-San No performs an aria from Richard Wagner's "Tannhäuser." Wagner appreciates No's version of Falstaff.

Petia Petrova (08:06)

The mezzo soprano from Bavaria sings arias from Gioachino Rossini and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Preparation for a competition is different than performing in an opera.

Credits: Cardiff Singer of the World: Episode 3 (00:35)

Credits: Cardiff Singer of the World: Episode 3

For additional digital leasing and purchase options contact a media consultant at 800-257-5126
(press option 3) or

Cardiff Singer of the World 1999: Episode 3

Part of the Series : Cardiff Singer Of The World 1999
DVD (Chaptered) Price: $169.95
DVD + 3-Year Streaming Price: $254.93
3-Year Streaming Price: $169.95



A biennial event attracting singers from every corner of the globe that compete for opera's most coveted crown in the world's most prestigious vocal contest. This episode features performances from David Kempster, Lisa Russell, Tómas Tómasson, Petia Petrova, Dae-San No, the Orchestra of Welsh National Opera, conductor Carlo Rizzi, and accompanist Ingrid Surgenor.

Length: 40 minutes

Item#: BVL185581

Copyright date: ©1999

Closed Captioned

Performance Rights

Prices include public performance rights.

Not available to Home Video, Dealer and Publisher customers.